College Directory


Administrative

Dean's Office

Name Title Room Ext. E-Mail
Cyndi Giorgis, Ph.D. Dean 414-B 5572 cagiorgis@utep.edu
Maria T. de la Piedra, Ph.D. Associate Dean 415 7676 mdelapiedra@utep.edu
David Carrejo, Ph.D. Associate Dean 414-C 6378 dcarrejo@utep.edu
Susana Aguirre Assistant to the Dean 414-E 5783 saguirre2@utep.edu
Elizabeth Fierro CAO 414-A 6367 ckflores@utep.edu
Carmen Molina Administrative Assistant II 414 5572 cmolina12@utep.edu
Ileana Rojas Administrative Assistant I 414 5572 irojas@utep.edu
Pedro Lopez Assistant 410 plopez10@miners.utep.edu

Center for Student Success

Name Title Room Ext. E-Mail
Lucina Zarate Director of Advising 414-D 5515 lucinaz@utep.edu
Hector Hernandez Certification Officer 412 8703 hhernandez10@utep.edu
Joyce Asing Cashman, Ph.D. Coordinator of Student Teaching 802 8420 gasingcashman2@utep.edu
Lilly Romo Assistant Director of Advising 412 5408 lromo@utep.edu
Alex Ortiz Graduate Programs Intake 801-A 5201 applycoegrad@utep.edu
Patsy Segura Field Experience Specialist 412 7596 psegura@utep.edu
Aileen Edna Martinez Program Advisor 412 6462 eamartinez6@utep.edu
Laura Harper Program Advisor 412 5298 lvharper@utep.edu
Michelle Devora Program Advisor 412 5952 mrdevora@utep.edu
Raquel Remes Program Advisor 412 7608 rremes@utep.edu
Manny Cano Coordinator of Student Data/ Testing 412 8086 manuelcr@utep.edu
Delma Colmenero-Chavez ACP Administrative Asst II 412 5874 dchavez4@utep.edu
Lizeth Hernandez Garcia Administrative Assistant 412 5571 lahernandezgarcia@utep.edu

Educational Technology Center

Name Title Room Ext. E-Mail
Gerardo Urquiza Tech. Implementaton Mgr. 400-B 5251 gurquiza@utep.edu
Roel Veloz Webmaster 406-B 5991 raveloz@utep.edu

Academics

Educational Leadership & Foundations

Name Title Room Ext. E-Mail
Rodolfo Rincones, Ph.D. Associate Prof./ Department Chair 501-C 7614 rrincones@utep.edu
Eduardo Arellano, Ph.D. Associate Professor of Practice 510-A 7593 ecarellano@utep.edu
Teresa Cortez, Ph.D. Associate Professor of Practice 510 6276 mtcortez@utep.edu
John Daresh, Ph.D. Professor 509 7592 jdaresh@utep.edu
David De Matthews, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 504 7591 dedematthews@utep.edu
Julia Duncheon, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 505 7607 jcduncheon@utep.edu
Penelope Espinoza, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 507 8784 ppespinoza@utep.edu
Stepehn Kotok, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 503 7594 sakotok@utep.edu
Angus Mungal, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 506 8433 asmungal@utep.edu
Arturo Olivarez, Ph.D. Professor 511 5579 aolivarez3@utep.edu
Carmen Reyes Program Advisor 501-B 7590 carmenr@utep.edu

Educational Psychology & Special Services

Name Title Room Ext. E-Mail
Rick Myer, Ph.D. Department Chair/Professor 701-C 7638 ramyer@utep.edu
Patricia Ainsa, Ph.D. Professor 702 7678 tainsa@utep.edu
Carleton Brown, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 705 8687 chbrown@utep.edu
Beverley Argus-Calvo, Ph.D. Associate Professor 713 5266 bcalvo@utep.edu
Paul Carrola, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 703 7496 pacarrola@utep.edu
Roberto Cortez Gonzalez, Ph.D. Associate Professor 709 7640 rgonzale@utep.edu
Helen Hammond, Ph.D. Associate Professor 711 7642 hhammond@utep.edu
Lawrence Ingalls, Ph.D. Associate Professor 710 7583 lingalls@utep.edu
Steve Johnson, Ph.D. Associate Professor 707 7584 stevej@utep.edu
Marisa Macy, Ph.D.  Visiting Assistant Professor 702 7640 mamacy@utep.edu
Sarah Peterson, Ph.D. Associate Professor 708 7639 sepeterson@utep.edu
Sang Min Shin, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 706 7643 sshin2@utep.edu
Robert Trussell, Ph.D. Associate Professor 712 7520 rptrussell@utep.edu
Richard Craig Williams, Ph.D. Associate Professor 704 7581 rcwilliams@utep.edu
Deborah Diaz Administrative Assistant 701A 7637 dcdiaz@utep.edu

Teacher Education

Name Title Room Ext. E-Mail
William H. Robertson, Ph.D. Professor and Co-Chair 801D 8457 robertson@utep.edu
Erika Mein, Ph.D. Associate Professor and Co-Chair 601D 7673 elmein2@utep.edu
Song An, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 808 7616 saan@utep.edu
Joyce Asing Cashman, Ph.D. Assistant Professor of Practice 802 8420 gasingcashman2@utep.edu
Amy Bach, Ed.D. Assistant Professor 610 5791 ajbach@utep.edu
David Carrejo, Ph.D. Associate Professor and Associate Dean 608 5566 dcarrejo@utep.edu
Timothy Cashman, Ph.D. Associate Professor 605 7713 tcashman@utep.edu
Christina Convertino, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 810 7675 cconvertino@utep.edu
Maria Teresa De La Piedra, Ph.D. Associate Professor and Associate Dean 414-D 5527 mdelapiedra@utep.edu
Alberto Esquinca, Ph.D. Associate Professor 805 6426 aesquinca@utep.edu
Jose Maria Herrera, Ph.D. Assistant Professor of Practice 602 5951 jherrera13@utep.edu
Pei-Ling Hsu, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 606 6446 phsu3@utep.edu
Ruby Lynch-Arroyo, Ph.D. Assistant Professor of Practice 803 7659 rllynch@utep.edu
Elena Izquierdo, Ph.D. Associate Professor 611 7595 ielena@utep.edu
So Jung Kim, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 801-B 6221 skim7@utep.edu
Olga Kosheleva, Ph.D. Associate Professor 607 7588 olgak@utep.edu
Nicole Louie, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 603 7677 nllouie@utep.edu
William J. Medina-Jerez, Ph.D. Associate Professor 604 8608 wjmedinajerez@utep.edu
Kathleen Mein, Ph.D. Assistant Professor of Practice 813 8045 kmein@utep.edu
Katherine Mortimer, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 811 5966 ksmortimer@utep.edu
Reynaldo Reyes, Ph.D. Associate Professor 801-C 8817 rreyes9@utep.edu
Elva Reza Lopez, Ph.D. Assistant Professor of Practice 601-A 6655 erlopez3@utep.edu
Cesar Rossatto, Ph.D. Associate Professor 812 5253 crossatto@utep.edu
Milagros Seda, Ph.D. Associate Professor 310-C 7670 mseda@utep.edu
Mourat Tchoshanov, Ph.D. Professor 612 7668 mouratt@utep.edu
Daniel Tillman, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 809 8661 datillman@utep.edu
Josefina V. Tinajero, Ph.D. Professor/Director 903 5552 tinajero@utep.edu
Char Ullman, Ph.D. Associate Professor 804 7646 cullman@utep.edu
Elsa Villa, Ph.D. Assistant Professor of Practice 413 6948 evilla@utep.edu
Ron Wagler, Ph.D. Associate Professor 806 5022 rrwagler2@utep.edu
Margarito (Margo) Navarro Administrative Services Coordinator 801-A 7669 mnavarro2@utep.edu
Kathy Surratt Administrative Assistant 601-B 5144 kjsurratt@utep.edu
Ignacio (Nacho) Rodriguez Administrative Secretary 601 5426 irodriguez9@utep.edu

Programs/Grants

Mother/ Daughter

Name Title Room Ext. E-Mail
Josefina V. Tinajero, Ed.D. Professor/Director 903 5552 tinajero@utep.edu

Project Lead

Name Title Room Ext. E-Mail
Elena Izquierdo, Ph.D. Assoc. Prof. 807 5689 ielena@utep.edu
Char Ullman, Ph.D. Assistant Prof. 807 7646 cullman@utep.edu
Estefania Balderas Administrative Services Coordinator 206 7606 rebalderas@utep.edu

Work with a Scientist Program

Program Website: http://workwithascientist.utep.edu

Name Title Room Ext. E-Mail
Pei-Ling Hsu, Ph.D. Program Director 210-B 8922 phsu3@utep.edu

Research Centers

Ethnography of Languages, Literacies, and Learning (EL3) Lab

Name Title Room Ext. E-Mail
Katherine Mortimer, Ph.D. Co-Director 811 5966 ksmortimer@utep.edu
Amy Bach, Ph.D. Co-Director 801-A 5791 ajbach@utep.edu
Emiliano Villarreal Graduate Student Coordinator 310 EL3Lab@utep.edu