2009 SPECIAL AWARD WINNERS

- Dr. Carter G. Woodson Award for Excellence in the Study of African Americans, *sponsored* by the African-American Studies Program, UTEP:
 - Valerie De La Cruz & Jasmine Flores. "Harriet Tubman and the Underground Railroad." Junior Group Exhibit. Henderson MS.
- William Mimmack Award for the Outstanding Entry on the Importance of the Humanities in History, *sponsored by the Humanities Program, UTEP:*
 - Elizabeth Dobbin. "Walt Disney: the Man of a Million Dreams. Junior Individual Exhibit. Lincoln MS.
- Outstanding Entry in Mexican-American History, *sponsored by the Chicano Studies Program, UTEP:*
 - Ronald Meeks, Ismael Castaneda, Mauro Silva, Andrea Acosta, Martha Escobedo. "Pancho Villa: Actions and Legacy of a Revolutionary." Senior Group Performance. El Paso HS.
- Outstanding Entry in Women's History, sponsored by the Women's Studies Program, UTEP:
 - Sarah Valdez. "Jane Addams: Savior of the Less Fortunate." Junior Individual Documentary. Hornedo MS.
- Outstanding Entry on the History of El Paso, Sponsored by the El Paso Museum of History:
 Breeana Veilleux. "Joseph Magoffin: Man of El Paso." Junior Individual Documentary. Morehead MS.
- Outstanding Entry in Military History, sponsored by Military Science Program, UTEP:
 - Carlo Navarro O'Hara. "General George Patton." Junior Individual Exhibit. Lincoln MS.
- Gorman Family Award for the Best Junior Paper, *sponsored by Frank W. Gorman Jr. and Arthur K. Gorman:*
 - Runner-up: Elijah Natividad. "The New Age of Art." Junior Paper. MacArthur Intermed.
 - Winner: Hannah Georges. "Without Great Little Madison." Junior Paper. Morehead MS.
- Best Entry in United States History, sponsored by Phi Alpha Theta Honorary Society, Department of History, UTEP:
 - o Hannah Storey-Gore. "Ingrid Newkirk." Junior Individual Website. Morehead MS.

- Best Entry in World History, sponsored by Phi Alpha Theta Honorary Society, Department of History, UTEP:
 - Lorraine Perez, Jessica Hamilton. "Frida Kahlo." Senior Group Exhibit. El Paso HS.
- The El Paso County Historical Society Karl P. and Helen P. Goodman Memorial Award for Best Overall Junior Entry, sponsored by the El Paso County Historical Society:
 - o Iliana DeSantis. "Houdini." Junior Individual Exhibit. Morehead MS.
- The El Paso County Historical Society Karl P. and Helen P. Goodman Memorial Award for Best Overall Senior Entry, sponsored by the El Paso County Historical Society:
 - Marissa Romero. "Oskar Schindler." Senior Individual Exhibit. El Paso HS.