Photo (left to right): Felix Ziwu (2015 awardee); Martin Knoll (1988 awardee & 2017 Presenter); Cora (Evey) Gannaway (2017 awardee); Tina Carrick (2007 awardee); Rachelle Kernen (2016 awardee).

Congratulations to our 2017 awardee - EVEY GANNAWAY!

Every year during Colloquium, the Department of Geological Sciences presents the Bruce Davidson Award to one of our outstanding Ph.D. Students.  The Bruce Davidson Award is supported by an endowed fund in memory of Bruce Davidson, a graduate student in Department of Geological Sciences, who was killed in a tragic accident at Hueco Tanks in late 1984. The fund, established in 1985, was created by students, friends, and family of the late Bruce Davidson. 

Eligibility Criteria

1) Enrollment in the graduate, preferrably doctorate, program in Geological Sciences at The University of Texas at El Paso

2) U.T. El Paso graduate GPA of at least 3.5

3) Shows true leadership characteristics and is an active participant in extracurricular activities (including but not restricted to activity in student organizations, sports, community work, etc.)