Environmental Sciences Faculty Profiles


The Environmental Science Program is hosted with the Department of Geological Sciences, but is a multi-disciplinary program with involvement of faculty from , Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Geological Sciences, and Physics.

Faculty from Biological Sciences

Tony

Dr. Anthony Darrouzet-Nardi

Assistant Professor

Research: biogeochemistry, global change, plant-soil interactions, plant physiological ecology

mlmoody2

Dr. Michael Moody

Assistant Professor

mlmoody@utep.edu

Faculty Page

Research: plant evolution

Bernal_sm

Dr. Carl Lieb

Professor

clieb@utep.edu

Faculty Page

Research: herpetology and desert ecology

Dr. Craig Tweedie

Associate Professor

ctweedie@utep.edu

Faculty Page

Research: terrestrial systems ecology and cyberinfrastructure

Bernal_sm

Dr. Vanessa Lougheed

Associate Professor

vlougheed@utep.edu

Faculty Page

Research: aquatic ecosystem ecology

Bernal_sm

Dr. Elizabeth Walsh

Professor

ewalsh@utep.edu

Faculty Page

Research: aquatic molecular ecology and toxicology

jrmclaren2

Dr. Jennie McLaren

Assistant Professor

jrmclaren@utep.edu

Faculty Page
Research: plant community ecology and ecosystem ecology

XiaofengXu

Dr. Xiaofeng Xu

Assistant Professor

xxu2@utep.edu

Faculty Page

Laboratory Page

Research:

Data-model integration for global change ecology across scales, trace gases, biogeochemistry

Faculty from Chemistry

chianelli

Dr. Russel Chianelli

Professor

chianell@utep.edu

Faculty Page

Research: biofuels and material science

Gardea-Torresdey_sm

Dr. Jorge Gardea-Torresday

Professor

jgardea@utep.edu

Faculty Page

Lab Page

Research: Environmental Chemistry, bioremediation, phytoremediation and environmental nontechnology

asfortier2

Dr. Skye Fortier

Assistant Professor

asfortier@utep.edu

Faculty Page

Lab Page

Research: Synthetic inorganic chemistry, uranyl photochemistry

Lee_sm

Dr. Wen-Yee Lee

Associate Professor

wylee@utep.edu

Faculty Page

Lab Page
Research: Organic pollutants and environmental endocrine disrupting compounds -- occurrence, concentration, fate and transport

Faculty from Geological Sciences

Brunner2014

Dr. Benjamin Brunner

Assistant Professor

bbrunner@utep.edu

Faculty Page

Research: Stable isotope biogeochemistry, Geomicrobiology, Sulfur cycle, Isotope fractionation, Authigenic minerals

Jin2014

Dr. Lixin Jin

Assistant Professor

ljin2@utep.edu

Faculty Page

Research: Continental weathering and global elemental cycles; interaction of water, air, biota and rocks in the Critical Zone (soils).

doser

Dr. Diane Doser

Professor

doser@utep.edu

Faculty Page

Research: Historical and recent earthquakes in Alaska and California; applications of geophysical techniques to environmental and engineering problems, including estimating the quality/quantity of saline and freshwater aquifers.

Lanford2014

Dr. Richard Langford

Professor

langford@utep.edu

Faculty Page

Research: Studies of modern and ancient desert surface processes and sediments surface and subsurface studies of sandstone oil reservoirs.

Gill

Dr. Thomas Gill

Associate Professor

tegill@utep.edu

Faculty Page

Personal Page
Research: Aeolian processes, atmospheric science, environmental geology and geochemistry. The interaction of the atmosphere with the other parts of the earth system: the generation and transport of dust and sand by the wind, and the effects of these materials on the environment and humans.

Ma2014

Dr. Lin Ma

Assistant Professor

lma@utep.edu

Faculty Page

Research: Low temperature geochemistry and hydrogeology, applications of isotopes (e.g., U-series and noble gases) to hydrological and environmental problems.

Hurtado

Dr. Jose Hurtado

Associate Professor

jhurtado@utep.edu

Faculty Page

Research: Tectonics and geomorphology in the Nepal and Bhutan Himalaya; Remote sensing, digital image processing, and visualization; Earthquake hazards and geomorphology in the El Paso region; planetary geology and geophysics of the Moon; planetary field exploration science and human space flight; computing and data collection technologies for field geologic applications.

Pingitore

Dr. Nicolas Pingitore

Professor

npingitore@utep.edu

Faculty Page

Research: The relationship of air quality to asthma in El Paso; synchrotron analysis of corals; elemental analyses of air particulates, food, water and soils in the El Paso-Juárez binational metroplex.

Dr. Richard Jarvis

Professor

rsjarvis@utep.edu

Faculty Page

Research: Physical geography, fluvial geomorphology, geosciences education in the transition from high school to college, online teaching and learning.

Pennington2014

Dr. Deana Pennington

Associate Professor, Associate Director Cyber-Share Center of Excellence

ddpennington@utep.edu

Faculty Page

Research: Earth and environmental informatics, knowledge representation, geospatial modeling and analysis, land cover change, surface processes, socio-environmental systems

Faculty from Physics

FitzgeraldRosa

Dr. Rosa Fitzgerald

Associate Professor

rfitzgerald@utep.edu

Faculty Page

Research: Atmospheric physics