Main Menu

Class Aves
Order Passeriformes
Family Fringillidae


Carpodacus—Purple Finches // Coccothraustes vespertinus—Evening Grosbeak // Loxia curvirostra—Red Crossbill // Spinus—Siskins and New World Goldfinches


The Fringillidae is a large family that includes a number of species commonly known as finches (the common name also appears in other families, however), but also crossbills, redpolls, siskins, and the Evening Grosbeak. Many, unfortunately, not only are difficult to distinguish from others in the family but also from members of other families.


Last Update: 22 Dec 2013