Main Menu

Class Aves
Order Passeriformes
Family Icteridae


Agelaius phoeniceus—Red-winged Blackbird // Euphagus magnirostris—Big-billed Blackbird // Icterus—American Orioles // Molothrus ater—Brown-headed Cowbird // Pandanaris convexa—Convex-billed Cowbird // Pyelorhamphus molothroides—Thick-billed Cowbird // Quiscalus—Grackles // Sturnella—Meadowlarks // Xanthocephalus xanthocephalus—Yellow-headed Blackbird


Although generally going under the common name of "blackbirds", this family includes the meadowlarks and orioles (among others), neither of which conjures up the image of a black bird. Over a dozen species occur in the region at present.


Last Update: 21 Dec 2013