Main Menu

Class Aves
Order Strigiformes
Family Strigidae


Aegolius—Saw-whet and Boreal Owls // Asio—Eared Owls // Asphaltoglaux cecileae—Asphalt Miniature Owl // Athene cunicularia—Burrowing Owl // Bubo virginianus—Great Horned Owl // Glaucidium—Pygmy Owls // Micrathene whitneyi—Elf Owl // Megascopes—Scops Owls // Oraristrix brea—Tar-pit Owl // Psiloscops flammeolus—Flammulated Screech Owl // Strix—Spotted Owls

Strigidae—Typical Owls

Most owls are assigned to this family despite the size differences, varying from the tiny Elf Owl to the Great Horned Owl. In a general way, prey size varies with size of the owl, but prey also may vary with hunting habits; an owl that hunts primarily over grassland has a different selection of prey items than one cruising forest or brushland.


Last Update: 8 Dec 2013