Skip to main content

UTEP President Selected to Serve on Collegiate Women Sports Awards Board of Directors

Last Updated on December 07, 2017 at 10:00 AM

Originally published December 07, 2017

By University Communications

UTEP Communications

The Collegiate Women Sports Awards (CWSA) presented by Honda recently named University of Texas at El Paso President Diana Natalicio to its Board of Directors. Her appointment was finalized by the organization’s executive committee Nov. 30.

UTEP President Diana Natalicio
UTEP President Diana Natalicio

“I am honored to be invited to serve on the Board of Directors of Collegiate Women Sports Awards, an organization charged with honoring female student-athletes who have exemplified leadership, academic achievement, athletic excellence and service to community,” President Natalicio said. “I am always deeply impressed by the amazing young women at UTEP who so successfully combine their athletic and academic achievements, and I know that I will greatly enjoy becoming even more inspired by the wealth of talented and dedicated female athletes who excel on campuses across this country.”


Each year, CWSA recognizes the accomplishments of outstanding female student-athletes in National Collegiate Athletic Association member institutions throughout the United States. The CWSA has honored the nation’s top NCAA woman athletes for 40 years, recognizing superior athletic skills, leadership, academic excellence and eagerness to participate in community service.


Athletes are recognized through various awards. These include the Honda Sport Awards, which are given annually to the best female athlete in each of the 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports. Three of those winners are chosen as finalists for the organization’s top prize – the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year award.


The CWSA’s highest honor is chosen by the Board of Directors and is awarded each June. Winners are presented with the Honda Cup during a live TV broadcast. This year’s winner was Stanford University standout swimmer Katie Ledecky, who competed for Team USA at the 2016 Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.


As a board member, President Natalicio will promote the award program, attend events and award activities, and vote for all Honda Sport Awards in addition to the Honda Cup.



“I am always impressed with the perspectives that are offered to our program from those serving as presidential board representatives,” said Chris Voelz, executive director of CWSA. “I expect Dr. Natalicio, with her wealth of experience, to follow in those valued footsteps.”


Jeanne Lenti Ponsetto, chair of the CWSA Board of Directors, echoed those sentiments. “To be able to attract the caliber of presidential leadership as with Dr. Natalicio speaks well for us and our future,” she said.