

If travel includes any area listed below, you must <u>request approval</u> from the International Oversight Committee (IOC) prior to making any travel arrangements.

Restricted Region Criteria - any country or region that meets any one of the following criteria is designated a Restricted Region. *U.S territories ARE NOT Restricted Regions*

(any region with numerical or written advisory regardless of country's overall rating) Level 3 – Reconsider travel	US Department of State (USDOS)	Travel Advisory (TA)	Level 4 – Do not travel
			Level 3 – Reconsider travel

Centers for Disease Control &		Level 4 – Avoid all travel
Prevention (<u>CDC</u>)	Travel Health Notice (THN)	Level 3 – Reconsider nonessential travel

On Call International (On Call) (Portal Group ID: 100143CPPD21)	Country Risk Rating	Level 5 - Critical
		Level 4 - High

UTEP International Oversight Committee or the Chancellor of	Any country or region of country within emerging threats or risk that is deemed concerning to the safety and well-being of employees and students
the University of Texas System	

DISCLAIMER: The information on this list is subject to change frequently. It is the responsibility of the traveler to monitor the list for updates

ADVISORY: If a country or areas does not require IOC approval, it does not mean there are no risks involved. It is a best practice to assess your health, security, and financial risks before departure, including being up-to-date in your vaccinations prior to travel outside the U.S.

Important Updates/Changes since 11/14/23

Gaza	Changed to "entire country" per Chancellor of UT System directive
Israel	Changed to "entire country" per Chancellor of UT System directive
Jordon	Changed to "entire country" per Chancellor of UT System directive

Afghanistan	Entire country
	Rural areas within 50 km/31 miles of the border with Tunisia and within 250 km/155 miles of the borders with Libya, Niger, Mali, and Mauritania
Algeria	Sahara Desert
Armenia	Nagoma-Karabakh region and surrounding territories

	Border region with Armenia
Azerbaijan	Entire country
Bangladesh	Southeast Bangladesh, including Chittagong Hill Tracts
Belarus	Entire country
Belize	Belize City
Benin	Entire Country
Bolivia	Chapare and Yungas regions
Brazil	150 km/100 miles of the international land borders with Venezuela, Colombia, Peru, Bolivia, Guyana, Suriname, French Guiana, and Paraguay. Travel to the Foz do Iguacu National Park and Pantanal National Park is permitted Informal housing developments commonly known as favelas, vilas, comunidades and/or conglomerados, even on a guided tour
	Brasilias' administrative regions commonly known as satellite cities of Ceilandia, Santa Maria, Sao Sebastiano, and Paronao
Burkina Faso	Entire country
Burma (Myanmar)	Entire country
Burundi	Entire country
Cameroon	Entire country
Cayman Islands	Entire country
Central African Republic	Entire country
Chad	Entire country
China	Entire country including Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (SAR) and Macau SAR
Colombia	Entire country
Côte d'Ivoire	Entire country
Cuba	Entire country (sanctioned country)
Cyprus	Entire country. Do not attempt to enter the United Nations buffer zone at any place other than the designated crossing point. Enter and exit the Republic of Cyprus ONLY at Larnaca and Paphos airports and at the seaports of Limassol, Larnaca, and Paphos. The Republic of Cyprus does not consider entry at Ercan Airport in the north to be a "legal" entrance into Cyprus
Democratic Republic of the Congo	Entire country
Ecuador	Entire Country
Egypt	Entire country
El Salvador	Entire country
Eritrea	Entire country
Ethiopia	Entire country

Gaza	Entire country. Chancellor of UT System directive
Georgia	Russian-occupied regions of South Ossetia and Abkhazia regions
Guatemala	Entire country
Guinea	Entire country
Guinea-Bissau	Entire country
Guyana	Entire country
Haiti	Entire country
Honduras	Entire country
Hong Kong	See China
	Union territory of Jammu and Kashmir (except the eastern Ladakh region and its capital, Leh)
	Within 10 km of the India-Pakistan border
India	States of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Tripura, and Manipur
	From eastern Maharashtra and northern Telangana through western West Bengal, particularly in rural parts of Chhattisgarh and Jharkhand and on the borders of Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, West Bengal, and Odisha
Indonesia	Provinces of central Papua (Papua Tengah) and Highland Papua (Papua Pegunungan)
Iran	Entire country
Iraq	Entire country
Israel	Entire country
Jamaica	Entire country
Jordan	Entire country. Chancellor of UT System directive
Kenya	Border regions with Somalia Areas of Turkana County (road from Kainuk to Lodwar). Coastal areas (Tana River and Lamu counties, and areas of Kilifi County north of Malindi). Kenya-Somalia border counties (Mandera, Wajir, Garissa) Nairobi neighborhoods of Eastleigh and Kibera Laikipia County, through Nyahururu, Laikipia West, and Laikipia North sub-counties
Kiribati	Entire country
Kosovo	North Mitrovica, Leposavic, Zubin Potok, and Zvecan
Kuwait	Desert areas and certain beaches north of the Mutla'a Ridge and near the border with Iraq
Kyrgyz Republic (Kyrgyzstan)	Border region with Tajikistan
Laos	Xaisomboun Province
Lebanon	Entire country
Libya	Entire country

Macau	
(China)	See China
Madagascar	Areas in and around the city of Tsaratanana in the Betsiboka Region, the unnamed road connecting the city of Tsiroanomandidy in the Bongolava Region with the coastal city of Maintirano in the Melaky Region, and the city of Betroka in the Anosy Region
Mali	Entire country
Mauritania	Entire country
Mexico	States of Baja California, Chihuahua, Colima, Durango, Guanajuato, Guerrero, Jalisco, Mexico, Michoacan, Morelos, Sinaloa, Sonora, Tamaulipas, Zacatecas
	Note: Mexico City is currently NOT a Restricted Region
Moldova	Entire country
Mozambique	Entire country
Myanmar (Burma)	Entire country
Nicaragua	Entire country
Niger	Entire country
Nigeria	Entire country
North Korea	Entire country
Oman	Yemen border area
Pakistan	Entire country
Palestine	Entire country (West Bank & Gaza)
Panama	Parts of the Mosquito Gulf – within 10 miles of the coastline, from Boca de Rio, Chiriqui to Coclé del Norte.
	Parts of the Darién Region - All areas south of Jaqué to Manene to Yaviza to Lajas Blancas Cities to the Colombian border; the cities of Lajas Blancas and El Salto
Papua New Guinea	Entire country
Peru	Entire Country
Philippines	Entire country. Sulu Archipelago, including the southern Sulu Sea and Marawi City in Mindanao (USDOS Level 4) and Mindanao (USDOS Level 3)
Republic of the Congo	Entire country
Russia	Entire country. Chancellor of UT System directive.
Saudi Arabia	Entire country
Somalia	Entire country
South Sudan	Entire country
Sudan	Entire country
Syria	Entire country
Tanzania	Mtwara region in southern Tanzania
Thailand	Southern provinces of Pattani, Narathiwat, Yala, and Songkhla

Тодо	Northern border region adjacent to Burkina Faso
Tonga	Entire country
Trinidad and Tobago	Entire Country
Tunisia	Entire country
Turkey	Sirnak province, Hakkari Provinces, and any area within 10 km/6 miles of Syrian border
Tuvalu	Entire country
Uganda	Entire country
Ukraine	Entire country
Venezuela	Entire country
Yemen	Entire country
Zimbabwe	Entire country