Skip to main content

UTEP Alumni Association Announces New President, Board Members

Last Updated on September 03, 2020 at 12:00 AM

Originally published September 03, 2020

By UC Staff

UTEP Communications

Martha Isabel Aguayo began her term as president of The University of Texas at El Paso Alumni Association on Sept. 1, 2020, replacing outgoing President Laura E. Biggs.

New UTEP Alumni Association President Martha Aguayo took office Sept. 1, 2020. Photo: Laura Trejo / UTEP Communications

Aguayo graduated with a bachelor’s degree in journalism and a minor in marketing from UTEP in 1994. Today, she is a Realtor as well as a sales and marketing specialist with Home Pros Real Estate Group. Before joining the UTEP Alumni Association as a board member in 2015, Aguayo volunteered for many years with the association’s El Paso Chapter and served as its president in 2010-11. 

As president, Aguayo wants to encourage all alumni to become members of the UTEP Alumni Association through the new and free Picks Up Membership. She also wants to encourage alums to stay engaged with UTEP to help fellow Miners, including current students.

“We must serve as role models for our current students and provide the opportunities and avenues they need to be successful. As alumni of this great institution, we should also feel proud to represent the Miner Nation all over the globe,” she said.

While many events for the fall have been postponed or canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Aguayo said she looks forward to the days when everyone can get together to celebrate their Miner pride.         

Other members of the 2020-21 UTEP Alumni Association Executive Committee are:

  • President-Elect – Bernardino Olague, LOI Engineering
  • Treasurer – Manuel Castruita, El Paso Independent School District
  • Vice President for Ways and Means – John Mack, Prudential
  • Vice President for Student Engagement – Maria Zampini, University Medical Center
  • Vice President of Alumni Engagement – James Jones, Ph.D., CHEP, USA
  • Vice President of Membership – Fred Lopez, Creosote Collaborative
  • Secretary – Rebecca Ramos Birch, IBM, Retired
  • Immediate Past-President – Laura E. Biggs, Department of Defense, Retired

At-large board members for the 2020-21 year are: Rick Acevedo, Ph.D., University of Detroit Mercy; Javier Aguilar, UTEP; Arturo Barrio, UTEP; Helen Castillo, Ph.D., retired; Michelle Esparza, Mounce, Green, Myers, Safi, Paxson & Galatzan Law Firm; Sergio M. Estrada, Kemp Smith Law Firm; George K. Farah, Farah Law Group; Rudy Gutierrez Jr., retired; Pilar Herrera, Ed.D., retired; Venkateswara Kolli, M.D.; Veterans Affairs Hospital of El Paso; Brandy L. Peterson Maddox, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; Anthony Martinez, Chick-fil-A; Elizabeth Reyes, City of El Paso; Florida Simon Dotson, Champions Real Estate Group; Monica Castillo-Thomas, Muñoz Trucking, Inc.; and Daniel Valdez, Ysleta Independent School District.