Skip to main content


UTEP's strategic planning process was designed to allow every member of the campus community the opportunity to participate and contribute to the strategic thinking that informed the final plan for the University. Students, faculty and staff were invited to participate in discussions and provide feedback.

UTEP’s senior leaders guided the strategic planning activities. President Wilson established a Strategic Planning Advisory Committee to provide feedback and analysis to UTEP’s senior leaders during the process. In addition, a Communication/Writing team was assembled to handle communications across campus and the writing of the strategic plan.



Heather Wilson, Ph.D.
Andrea Cortinas, J.D.
Vice President and Chief of Staff
Gary Edens, Ed.D.
Vice President for Student Affairs
Luis Hernandez
Vice President for Information Resources
Jake Logan
Vice President for Institutional Advancement
Mark McGurk
Vice President for Business Affairs
Roberto Osegueda, Ph.D.
Vice President for Research
Jim Senter
Athletics Director
John Wiebe, Ph.D
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs



Beth L. Brunk-Chavez, Ph.D.
Dean – Extended University
Stephen Crites, Ph.D.
Dean – Graduate School
Shafik Dharamsi, Ph.D
Dean - College of Health Sciences
Robert A. Kirken, Ph.D
Dean – College of Science
Patricia Nava, Ph.D.
Interim Dean – College of Engineering
Denis O’Hearn, Ph.D.
Dean – College of Liberal Arts
James Payne, Ph.D.
Dean – College of Business Administration
José O. Rivera, Pharm.D.
Founding Dean – School of Pharmacy
Leslie K. Robbins, Ph.D.
Dean – School of Nursing
Clifton Tanabe, Ph.D.
Dean – College of Education



Virginia Fraire, Ph.D. - Co-chair
Vice Provost for Student Success and Stratetic Initiatives
Roy Mathew, Ph.D. - Co-chair
Associate Vice President for Planning
Stephen Aley, Ph.D.
Associate Vice President for Research
Laurie Banitch
Director, Institutional Advancement
Stephen Crites, Ph.D.
Dean, Graduate School
Erik Devos, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, College of Business Administration
Mallory Driggers, Ph.D.
Senior Director, Institutional Advancement
Kristine Garza, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, College of Science
Ann Gates, Ph.D.
Senior Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs
Hector Gonzalez
Director, UTEP Connect
Julie Levesque
Associate Athletics Director and Senior Woman Administrator
Mayra Maldonado
Associate Director, Hunt Institute for Global Competitiveness
Erika Mein, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, College of Education
Eva Moya, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Social Work
Frida Murga
UTEP Edge Student Ambassador
Richard Pineda, Ph.D.
Department Chair of Communication
Laura Rodriguez, DNP
Associate Dean, School of Nursing
Louie Rodriguez, J.D.
Associate Vice President, Student Affairs
Jessica Schenberger-Trujillo, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, School of Pharmacy
Guadalupe Valencia-Skanes
Associate Vice President, Business Affairs
Steven T. Varela
Associate Director, Center for Faculty Leadership and Development
Brian Yothers, Ph.D.
Department Chair of English



Daphne Griffin
Director of Marketing and Communications,
Institutional Advancement
Elsa Martin, Ph.D.
Research Associate, Center for Metrics-Based Planning
Jenn Crawford
Director for Communications,
University Communications
PJ Vierra, Ph.D.
Assistant Director for Advancement Communications,
Institutional Advancement
Frank Duran
Director for Creative Services,
University Communications



Richard Pineda, Ph.D.
Department Chair of Communication
Brian Yothers, Ph.D.
Department Chair of English